June 2016 Newsletter
Share |

In This Issue

Past President's Message President's Message TAGITM Honors Their Own
Membership Renewals Listserv
message from the outgoing president - ben roper

It has been a great year for TAGITM. I am truly honored to have had the privilege of serving as President for the past year. For those of you at the Business Meeting, you know how much I value this organization and what it means to me to be a part of this special group. I would like to thank the 2015-2016 Board and all of the committee members for their hard work during the year. There is always room for improvement, but you all did an amazing job and put on a great Conference. I also extend my thanks to the CMP Team for their hard work, advice and assistance over the year. Congratulations to Beth Ann on her election as 2016-2017 President. TAGITM is in good hands.

message from the incoming president - beth ann unger

As we kick off our 38th year, TAGITM is stronger than ever.  Attendance at our conferences has grown to the point that we must begin looking for venues that can accommodate our progressively larger size for future conferences.  TAGITM continues our partnership with the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill and the Certified Government Chief Information Officer (CGCIO) program.  In fact, Texas now boasts the largest number of CGCIO graduates of any state.  This year, we will expand our regional educational events to two, with the first to be held in September in the DFW area and the second in the January/February timeframe in the Austin area.  The TAGITM Board will meet in June for our annual strategic planning session to set our goals for the 2016/2017 year, as well as review our five year plan.  If you have any ideas or suggestions, please let us know via email to info@tagitm.org.   It is an amazing time to be part of this great organization, and I am honored to have the opportunity to serve you. 

Welcome and thank you to the 2016-2017 TAGITM Board of Directors:

Executive Committee

President Beth Ann Unger City of Frisco
Vice President Mike Sturm City of San Marcos
Past President Ben Roper City of College Station
Secretary / Treasurer
Sid Hudson City of Allen
TML Affiliate Representative
Tony Tull City of Granbury

Committee Chairs

Curt Balogh City of Frisco
Phyllis Wolfe City of Benbrook
Industry Advisory Committee
William Pham The Woodlands Township
Tim Nolan Collin County
Pam Cobb City of Conroe
Scott Joyce City of Euless
tagitm honors their own

One of the highlights of the annual conference is the opportunity to honor and recognize TAGITM members for their distinguished service and contribution to Government IT and the TAGITM organization. The nominations and submissions were numerous and impressive.  The Awards committee had the daunting task of reviewing the submissions and selecting the winners.  Congratulations to our 2016 recipients:

President’s Award
James Brown, City of Waco

Rick Moore Award
Dale Harwell, City of University

Rising Star Award
Ilija Preocanin, City of Cedar Park

Excellence Awards
City of Arlington for their SCADA System Network Upgrade.
City of Plano for their Data Center Initiative.
City of San Marcos for their Development of a Collector App to Assess Property Damage after Catastrophic Flood Events.
Gregg County for their 3 Phase Information Technology Infrastructure Upgrade.

membership renewals

Have you renewed your TAGITM Membership? The new Membership Year began October 1st. You can renew now by logging into your organizations master account or contacting TAGITM headquarters at info@tagitm.org.  Be sure to renew so you can attend the Annual Conference at the member rate!


Are you on the TAGITM Listserv? The TAGITM Listserv is for Agency members only to provide mechanisms for members to share experiences, questions and other pertinent information with TAGITM members. If you would like to be added to the Listserv please contact TAGITM headquarters at info@tagitm.org.  


Executive Board

Connect with us: