2016 Award Recipients
Share |

TAGITM Members Earn Annual Statewide Technology Awards

The Texas Association of Governmental Information Technology Managers, TAGITM, is an information system's professional organization that provides a forum for generating ideas, sharing problems, and developing solutions. The association's main objective is to enable cities, counties, schools and appraisal districts within Texas to realize the full potential of automation benefits. The association currently has over 200 cities, counties, appraisal districts and school districts as part of their membership program.

During the TAGITM Annual Conference in May 2016, the association recognized the following individuals and projects (PHOTOS):  

TAGITM President's Award

The President’s Award is presented at the discretion of the President to a member that has made an exemplary and lasting contribution to the organization. For 2015-2016, President Ben Roper selected City of Waco Information Technology Director James Brown

TAGITM Rick Moore Award

The Rick Moore Award is presented to a member of the organization who has demonstrated commitment to the goals and the vision of the organization, dedication to Government Information Technology and service as a mentor to other Government Information Technology professionals.  University Park Director of Information Services Dale Harwell was the recipient of the 2016 award. 

TAGITM Rising Star Award

The Rising Star Award is presented to a member that has demonstrated the potential for stepping into leadership positions within the organization and the Government Information Technology arena.  Nominees are evaluated in the areas of leadership skills and behavior, innovative and effective use of technology, organizational strategy alignment and their ability to manage change.  The 2016 award was presented to City of Cedar Park Information Technology Assistant Director of Operations Ilija Preocanin.  

TAGITM Excellence Awards

Excellence Award winners demonstrate outstanding innovation and application of leading edge computing or communication technologies. Candidates for Excellence Awards are nominated by TAGITM members. Winners are chosen by a committee of peers who judge nominated projects based on their impact on improving internal operations, providing exceptional customer service or enhancing communications.   The following agencies were recognized for their achievements with Excellence Awards:

City of Arlington for their SCADA System Network Upgrade

City of Plano for their Data Center Initiative

City of San Marcos for their Development of a Collector App to Assess Property Damage after Catastrophic Flood Events

Gregg County for their 3 Phase Information Technology Infrastructure Upgrade (In the News)